Lipscomb places 73 athletes on A-Sun All-Academic Team
Dr. Lin Garner
Dr. Lin Garner

Saturday, January 17, 2009

The Atlantic Sun Conference’s strong tradition of academic success continued with the announcement of the fall All-Academic teams. The conference office announced that more than 54 percent of men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s and women’s basketball and volleyball players earned All-Academic status.

Belmont, the winner of six of the previous seven Academic Trophies holds a narrow lead on Mercer and ETSU. The Bruins own the distinction as having all seven teams place at least 50 percent of their student-athletes on the All-Academic teams. The Bruins lead with 75 student-athletes on the team, followed closely by Lipscomb with 73 student-athletes and Mercer with 70

[ In total, 682 student-athletes made the All-Academic teams, led by the 173 from the conference’s women’s soccer programs. ETSU’s women led the way as 21 of its 23 student-athletes earned All-Academic honors. Three programs, Belmont’s and Mercer’s women’s cross country team along with UNF’s volleyball team featured programs with 100 percent of the team achieving All-Academic status.

To be named A-Sun All-Academic, a student-athlete must achieve a 3.0 or higher in the classroom during their semester of competition. The sports sponsored by conference members are cross-country, soccer, volleyball, basketball, tennis, golf, softball, baseball, indoor and outdoor track & field.

Men's Soccer

Ricardo Atti

Joseph DeRosa

Chet Hemenway

Zackary Johnson

Joshua Lind

Brent McGee

Evan McGee

Chase Nieri


Jacob Tache

Women's Soccer

Brandi Besheres

Danielle Bethke

Megan Blalock

Lacey Cross

Sara Green

Laura Grubb

Kirsten Heikkinen

April Horner

Meghan McGuire

Halie Proffitt

Emma Scanlon

Leah Scruggs

Katie Shelton

Kathryn Spellman

Amy Stagliano

Danielle Stewart

Cally Warren

Men's Cross Country

Joshua Baker

Trace Carlson

Cormac Carolan-Tolbert

Ryan Chastain

William Fennell

Jeffrey Hoover

Chad Martin

Benton Reed

Andrew Shankles

Aaron Todd

David Wolfe

Paul Wright

Women's Cross Country

Julia Alley

Caitlin Anderson

Catherine Beals

Paloma Floden

Paige Griffin

Carolyn Latham

Ashley Lehman

Erin Pyles

Jenny Randolph

Shannon Shoemake

Louisa Van Batavia


Katiana Bradley

Ellyn Kaiser

Alex Kelly

Kaley Mohr

Kelsey Neumann

Jake Pease

Erin Pierce

Katherine Rose

Amy Trykowski

Jessica Turner

Men's Basketball

Jacob Arnett

Jordan Burgason

Justin Glenn

Rob Murphy

Michael Teller

Women's Basketball

Jenna Bartsokas

Anna Bowers

Miaca Bowman

Brittany Duerk

Leah McAlister

Miriam McAlister

Jilian Partin

Katie Rollins